Ika Musume Episode 5 – Big things come in small packages


Saddest moment in anime this year

Screw the first 2 parts, this episode is all about the last segment.

What makes this segment so special is the fact that it does not rely on any kind of script. The driving force of this short is on its delivery. First, they give us one of the cutest little things I’ve seen this year in mini-ika musume. Then they quickly develop of the relationship between Eiko and her little pet, showing us plenty of happy scenes of them together, only to  inevitably show us the conclusion of their time together due to the restrictions of the human body. Its a reality that cannot be avoided, everyone eventually dies and leaves their loved ones behind. The music score strikes big on this segment as a mood setter which helps heighten the emotions for the final scene. Had this not been declared that it was all a dream for the final comedic punch line, I would have easily called this one of the biggest successes at emotional impact in any anime this year. This little 7 minute short with no dialogue whatsoever produced more emotions than all of Angel Beats! could muster in its miserable 13 episode run (but im not gonna start ranting about that fail job here).

My hat comes off to the staff of this series, fantastic job here. For this segment alone, I give it a 5 out of 5.

Episode 5 Rating (whole episode) – 4.5 mini-ikas (out of 5)

This entry was posted in Ika Musume and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ika Musume Episode 5 – Big things come in small packages

  1. SealedTime says:

    Same here. This short 7 minutes of Ika Musume was the best I’ve seen for this season, in terms of how well the BGM flows with the overall story. I too, rate it 5/5.

  2. Arabesque says:

    Hm. The third segment was indeed very well made, however the way it clashed with entire mood of the show up to that point made me scratch my head at it. Still, must give credit where it’s due.

    ”I would have easily called this one of the biggest successes at emotional impact in any anime this year”

    I’m going to respectfully disagree with this, even if I did think that the segment was powerful, I’ve seen anime this year that had bigger impact.

    ”Angel Beats”

    Meh. I somewhat agree that it wasn’t stellar, but I won’t say it’s a fail job.

Leave a comment