ISML 2011 – Road to Preliminaries


As a new year comes, so does a new season of ISML. Last year’s glory belonged to K-ON!’s Akiyama Mio after a pretty definitive and crushing victory against Mikasa Mikoto (7179 to 5189).

As the Preliminaries for the 2011 season are fast approaching, 96 characters were nominated by the people to join the already auto-qualified entries. A preview of those that qualified were:

No. Name Series Ballots
1 Gokō “Kuroneko” Ruri Ore no Imōto 1067
2 Kōsaka Kirino Ore no Imōto 1066
3 Eucliwood Hellscythe Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? 835
4 Victorique de Blois GOSICK 722
5 Kasugano Sora Yosuga no Sora 585
6 Ika-Musume Shinryaku! Ika Musume 540
7 Shinonono Hōki IS (Infinite Stratos) 434
8 Merry Nightmare Yumekui Merry 430
9 Ikaros Sora no Otoshimono 428
10 Nymph Sora no Otoshimono 426

No. Name Series Ballots
11 Huang Lingyin IS (Infinite Stratos) 416
12 Index Librorum Prohibitorum Toaru Majutsu no Index 396
13 Rose Dragon Crisis! 391
14 Haruna Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? 383
15 Louise Vallière Zero no Tsukaima 358
16 Isurugi Mio MM! 335
17 Elsie de Lute Irma Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai 327
18 Ayuzawa Misaki Kaichō wa Maid-sama! 320
19 Aragaki Ayase Ore no Imōto 309
20 Suigintou Rozen Maiden 293

You can check the full list of the nominations at their official website.

Allow me to comment on some of these nominations:

#1-2 Kuroneko and Kirino (1067-1066): Well this probably shouldn’t be a surprise since OreImo was one of the most popular series last year AND its also really fresh in people’s minds. But seeing Kuroneko edge Kirino by 1 ballot is really something. I cant wait to see how they perform in the prelims, it will be good.

#3 Eucliwood Hellscythe (835): I wasnt expecting this, but you know what…im very happy for this. Eu (or Yuu) is currently my favourite character of the winter season and her cuteness is a miracle of the fucking universe. I will be supporting her all the way this year, she has earned it.

#4 Victorica de Blois (722): Another one I wasnt expecting so high, must be because its new and fresh. But Victorica is justified, she is a very cute character and her little fountain of wisdom also makes her very entertaining to watch. Will be supporting her.

#6 Ika Musume (540): Considering how I was expecting her to take 1st in nominations, I am a little disappointed in her performance here. Either way im sure Ika Musume will do fine, her invasion of ISML will be glorious.

#7 Shinonono Houki (434): Another case of fresh is best. Houki is the tsundere moe kind, her dere moments are cute. But other than that she has yet to do much in her own series but that doesnt mean I dont like her. She gets my support.

#8 Merry Nightmare (430): Winter season is hitting hard, and Merry’s top 10 placement is totally fine with me. After Eu, Merry is my 2nd favourite of the season because she has a really likeable attitude and she can be very cute when the situation calls, not to mention she is also pretty badass at times.

Other nominations worth mentioning:

#13 Rose (391): I dont like Dragon Crisis but Rose is cute, and it seems many people seem to agree here…is this character popularity or only Kugimiya Rie pull?

#14 Haruna (383): I did NOT expect her to place this high, I knew Eu was the fav Zombie girl but it seems Haruna has a strong following as well. I am totally ok with this because Haruna is also a good character and I will help her on the prelims.

#17 Elsie de Lute Irma (327): Im a little sad seeing Elsie place here, its not “bad” but her chances of doing decent in the event she manages to get into the main tournament start to look more grim…either way Elsie is my top pick of the candidates here…like Mafuyu the year before, I will NOT let her down!

#19 Aragaki Ayase (309): Im glad to see Ayase here, she was to me one of the most entertaining characters in OreImo and she is cute as hell too!

#20 Suigintou (293): Rozen Maiden tries once again to regain its lost glory on ISML, but will it be like 2009 again?

#21 Shiomiya Shiori (279): She is really really cute, but I cant help but think this is more about Hanazawa Kana than her character.

#22 Konjiki no Yami (275): After watching/reading To Love Ru, I am sad I didnt support her sooner.

#33 Nakagawa Kanon (202): I am not expecting her to get far, but I will support her with all my might for as long as I can! LOVE KANON! BANG BANG!

#44 Kiriya Nozomi (176): I was honestly expecting her to do better, I hope Fumino doesnt get destroyed out there.

#59 Kinomoto Sakura (133): Oh Sakura, the only character from the 90s that can still fight it with characters of recent years. For the prelims, you undying loyalty goes to you.

#64 Amakusa Shino (122): I thought SYD was more popular than this, oh well Shino is cute so I will be supporting her.

#70 Kotegawa Yui (120): Oh Yui! You are so awesome! For sure I will support you!

#71 Alice (120): From Pandora Hearts, its a shame not enough people know how great she is…she is part of my all time top 10 for a reason.

And now for those that didn’t make the cut:

#101 Kawasumi Mai (87): I cannot believe people have already forgotten about Kanon…remember when Mai was in the top 16?

#104 Tsukimiya Ayu (84): same as above.

#106 Amamiya Yuuko (82): Some things are just not meant to be huh…she is always close, but never reaches the goal.

#112 Mizunashi Akari (75): Its for the better, this actually makes me happy. But thanks for nominating her!

#161 Haqua du Lot Herminium (47): IF ONLY SEASON 2 HAD COME SOONER! Either way once S2 airs she will be guaranteed to qualify…she is that good!

#185 Kanzaki H. Aria (41): She might look weak now because her anime has not started yet, but by the end of summer she will be joining the ranks of Shana, Taiga, Nagi, and Lousie…mark my words. Confirmed for ISML 2012.

Oh and before I forget, I have to comment about those that got nominated but were not eligible because of auto-qualification or no anime:

Tennos Athena (148): For the second year in a row, she is denied a chance into ISML because of her not being in the anime yet…despite gathering more nominations than a big chunk of the girls above. I cannot wait when her time to come, she might even make the top 16 this way.

Kinoshita Hideyoshi (110): GUYS SERIOUSLY! HE MAY LOOK GREAT BUT ITS NOT A GIRL! REMEMBER THAT!

And thats all I have to say for now, in case you guys were wondering who I nominated for back then, well here it is:

Awesome tastes right?

This entry was posted in ISML. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ISML 2011 – Road to Preliminaries

  1. Tomoyo says:

    Can’t wait to do some voting.

  2. Eater-of-All says:

    >ITS
    I see what you did there.

  3. SealedTime says:

    2 Kōsaka Kirino Ore no Imōto 1066 (So the queen of bitchville wins huh)
    5 Kasugano Sora Yosuga no Sora 585 (People do love their pr0n)
    7 Shinonono Hōki IS (Infinite Stratos) 434 (WTF, Why no Charlotte?!)

    ^WHAT THE HECK.

    Also, honorable and awesome mentions yo.
    1 Gokō “Kuroneko” Ruri Ore no Imōto 1067 (Fuckyes.jpeg)
    4 Victorique de Blois GOSICK 722 (Awesome moe)
    8 Merry Nightmare Yumekui Merry 430 ( YES!)
    6 Ika-Musume Shinryaku! Ika Musume 540 (LOL IKA. IKA IS AWESOME)
    3 Eucliwood Hellscythe Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? 835 (I like this, but where’s Haruna )

  4. Nopy says:

    There’s so many girls to choose from, some rounds are going to be tough voting for. I’m rooting for Tomoe Mami this year though, she’s awesome.

  5. Wolfnagi says:

    #13 Rose (391): I dont like Dragon Crisis but Rose is cute, and it seems many people seem to agree here…is this character popularity or only Kugimiya Rie pull?

    Case of hating the series but liking the character.
    Not blaming you much…..

    – Tennos Athena (148): For the second year in a row, she is denied a chance into ISML because of her not being in the anime yet…despite gathering more nominations than a big chunk of the girls above. I cannot wait when her time to come, she might even make the top 16 this way.

    What, A-tan got into AST isn’t enough for you?

    – Kinoshita Hideyoshi (110): GUYS SERIOUSLY! HE MAY LOOK GREAT BUT ITS NOT A GIRL! REMEMBER THAT!

    lulz xD

    • Game8910 says:

      I cant consider her particiaption into AST seriously since she still hasnt been properly given an anime introduction…thats why she can never get past her first match….but even then she has managed to get past preliminaries on manga power alone so thats something.

      • Wolfnagi says:

        That’s what I’m saying,
        Try too relax for a while, game xD
        Maybe she do can get in 2012 (depending on the movie……….)
        As for AST, we have to die for a year before HnG got in again……
        Good thing I have Aria xD

Leave a Reply

