Top 5 Favourite OP/ED – Winter 2011 Edition


I waited this long to make this post for this season since I wanted to hear some of these singles in FULL before making my decision. When compared to last season, the OP/ED this time around are not as good but there are still very good ones out there. Anyways here are my top 5 EDs:

5. Kore wa Zombie desu ka? – “Kizuite Zombie-sama, Watashi wa Classmate desu” by Rie Yamaguchi with manzo



Other than having one of the longest names for an ED song I’ve seen, this ED is pretty catchy and seriously….how can you NOT like that dancing from Haruna and Yuu?

4. Yumekui Merry – “Yume to Kibou to Ashita no Atashi” by Ayane Sakura

Considering that this is sung by the same seiyuu as Merry herself and the fact that she is a grand new voice as well, she did pretty well for this song. JC Staff delivers yet another nice ED this season.

3. Puella Magi Madoka Magica – “Magia” by Kalafina

Sorry about shit quality but this ED is actually pretty damn good. I mean it is Kalafina so its to be expected. The backgrounds on this ED are really cool to watch…it really says much about the mood the series is going into.

2. GOSICK – “Resuscitated Hope” by Lisa Komine

I actually like the visuals on this one a lot, and the song is great…it really fits the mood of the series well and I cannot wait to have the single version of this when it comes out. Also Victorica in pink dress fucking WHEN!?

1. IS – Infinite Stratos – “SUPER∞STREAM” by Hikasa Yoko

While this ED changes every couple episodes adding new singers corresponding the growing harem Ichika is collecting…the Hikasa Yoko solo version is my favourite. Its no news that she is an awesome singer and her songs for the K-ON! EDs are ridiculously awesome…and this season she once again provides top quality songs.


And now we move on to the OPs:

5. Yumekui Merry – “Daydream Syndrome” by Marina Fujiwara

JC Staff again puts out a nice OP this season for Yumekui Merry, I really like parts of the songs and I specially like the face Merry put near the end…freaking awesome.

4. GOSICK – “Destine Histoire” by yoshiki*lisa

From the “real” singer that put out all the songs from GirlsDemo on Angel Beats! Risa makes another great song for Gosick. I started watching Gosick 5 episodes late but this OP quickly grew and became one of my fav of the season.

3. IS – Infinite Stratos – “STRAIGHT JET” by Minami Kuribayashi

The same singer that did the 1st Katanagatari OP (which is an awesome OP) now does the OP for IS and the song is once again really really catchy and I have prob listened to the single version of this one the most so far for sings this season.

2. Puella Magi Madoka Magica – “Connect” by Claris

After “Irony”, ClariS has quickly become a favourite of mine…in fact their OreImo OP now ranks highly on my all time fav anime OP songs. This season they follow up by making the OP for Madoka Magica which now graces the banner of the blog. While I may not like it as much as “Irony”, this new song is still seriously awesome and makes me wish for more songs from them in the future.

1. Kore wa Zombie desu ka? – “Ma・Ka・Se・Te Tonight” by Iori Nomizu

And out of fucking nowhere comes this OP. Seriously I love this song! I have been listening to it non stop for 2 days now. Not only as an OP but so far Zombie as a whole has been surpassing what I had originally expected every episode. Fav of the season for me.

Coincidentally all 5 series which featured in the EDs were also in the OPs…other series of this season, are you even trying?

This entry was posted in first impressions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top 5 Favourite OP/ED – Winter 2011 Edition

  1. SealedTime says:

    Finally brogged huh.

  2. Psycho says:

    I also like “Ma・Ka・Se・Te Tonight.” The beat and melody is catchy.
    For ED song, I prefer Magia… give me some creepy feeling but still enjoyable.

  3. kei78 says:

    “Ma・Ka・Se・Te Tonight” is on another level compared to the others

  4. 0tawin says:

    I also like the song of the opening of level E… but the video is fishy

  5. gogo7188 says:

    No mention of the OP for Dragon Crisis!? I’m shocked! Immoralist is the best OP, and general theme, of the season to me! Haha, oh well. Nice choice for #1 OP, it’s my second favourite! I also played it non-stop.😀

    Kore wa Zombie desu ka?, Yumekui Merry, and Gosick have my favourite OP/ED combos…but really, I like pretty much every theme, haha. (I’m not too hard to please. :P) Anyway, great list!

  6. SealedTime says:

    I feel all of them are good, but my preference is more on KoreZom as well. Love Yumekui Merry though, but that’s just me fanboying so…

Leave a Reply

